Captain's Brief · Crew welfare · 16 min read · Sep 25, 2026

Personal Starlink on a Merchant Ship: Why Roam Is Not a Maritime Plan
A Starlink Roam kit costs less than a month's allotment for many ratings, so it is easy to see why crew buy one before joining. The problem is that Roam is a land plan. It covers the coast for a limited time, and it does not cover the open ocean unless you pay extra per gigabyte.
This guide explains what each Starlink plan actually allows at sea, what the terms say, which hardware can handle a ship, and what has to happen on board before a personal dish goes up. All facts were checked against Starlink's own pages and terms on 25 September 2026. Starlink changes plans often, so check again before you buy.
Short answer: A Roam 100GB kit bought in the Philippines will not give you internet in the middle of the Pacific. The only Starlink plans made for the open ocean are Global Priority (the plan Starlink sells as "Maritime") and Roam Unlimited with Ocean Mode, which is charged per GB. Either way, you need the Master's and the company's permission first.
Roam vs Maritime at a glance
| Roam 100GB | Roam Unlimited | Roam Unlimited + Ocean Mode | Personal Maritime | Global Priority ("Starlink Maritime") | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | ₱3,299/month (PH) | ₱5,999/month (PH); $175 in the US | ₱5,999 + $6 per GB from 27 Sep 2026 ($2/GB before that) | $185/month (US); no PH price published | 50GB $250 · 500GB $650 · 1TB $1,150 · 2TB $2,150 per month (USD, same worldwide) |
| Data | 100GB high-speed, then unlimited low-speed | Unlimited "Roam" data | Every GB billed while Ocean Mode is on, wherever you are | Unlimited in territorial waters | Fixed Priority data blocks. Once they run out: slow 1 Mbps down / 0.5 Mbps up, or buy 50GB top-ups |
| Network priority | Standard Roam | Standard Roam | Higher than Roam | Not stated for territorial waters | Priority (ahead of Residential and Roam) |
| Land | Yes, home country only | Yes; up to 30 days at a time outside your home country | Yes | Not allowed | Yes |
| Coastal waters (up to 12 nm) | Up to 5 days in a row, 60 days a year | Up to 5 days in a row, 60 days a year | Unlimited | Yes | Yes |
| Open ocean (beyond 12 nm) | No | No | Yes | Only with Ocean Mode ($6/GB) | Yes |
| In motion | Yes, up to 100 mph where approved | Yes, up to 100 mph | Yes | Not stated | Yes, up to 100 mph (87 knots) |
| Merchant ship? | Not designed for it | Not designed for it (terms say "land-based use") | Possible, but it gets expensive fast | No: small personal boats only, no commercial vessels | Yes: this is the plan Starlink markets for merchant vessels |
Sources: starlink.com/ph/roam, starlink.com/ph/maritime, Starlink Service Plan Descriptions and Help Center, checked 25 Sep 2026. Peso prices are Starlink Philippines' own. Global Priority and Personal Maritime are priced in USD only.
What the terms say about ocean use
Starlink's Service Plan Descriptions (the legal part of your contract) are clear on three points:
- Roam is designed for land. Roam Unlimited is described as "designed for low demand, land-based use". It "may be used in coastal waters for up to 5 consecutive days, or 60 days total in a 12-month period and cannot be used on the open ocean unless you opt-in to Ocean Mode."
- Roam 100GB stays at home. It "may only be used in your registered country." For a Philippine account, that means the Philippines. Since the July–August 2026 changes, only Roam Unlimited can be used abroad, and only for up to 30 days at a time before you must return home, upgrade, or move your account to another country.
- Ocean Mode bills everything. Once it is on, you pay per GB "for all data consumed, regardless of the location where usage occurs," until you switch it off yourself. Starlink's Help Center says the price for Roam Unlimited rises from $2 to $6 per GB on 27 September 2026.
What happens if you just try Roam offshore? Beyond 12 nm without Ocean Mode, Starlink says Ocean Mode "is required to connect on international waters". In other words, Roam simply stops giving you service out there. Going beyond the 5/60-day coastal limits or the 30-day travel limit is a breach of the plan terms. Starlink may then limit, suspend or end the service, and the terms say it can suspend immediately if you are outside an authorised area.
What about the new Personal Maritime plan? It was launched in late August 2026 for $185/month, and it is not for merchant ships. The terms limit it to "personal, small watercraft use" and ban "any commercial, business, or enterprise use." The Philippine version checked on 25 Sep 2026 gives 40 ft as the example of a boat that is too big. US reports say the US version was changed to 60 ft on 4 September. Either way, a container ship does not qualify.
Sharing Wi-Fi. Starlink's general Terms of Service say you "may not resell access to the Services to others". The exception is Priority plans, whose holders may offer access as community Wi-Fi or a hotspot "such as to... boat passengers." If crew chip in for a Roam plan, that can look like reselling. On Global Priority, sharing is allowed under Starlink's terms, but it still needs the company's approval.
Does Starlink cut you off when the ship moves? (Speed vs location)
Many seafarers believe the dish senses the ship's speed and then stops working or asks for a maritime plan. That is only partly right.
- Speed is not the trigger at sea. Roam, Local Priority and Global Priority all allow in-motion use up to 100 mph (160 km/h, 87 knots) where in-motion use is approved. A merchant ship never gets near that speed. In some countries (Indonesia, Malaysia, Japan, Jordan and Mexico, according to Starlink), in-motion use is banned on land but allowed at sea. The Philippines is on Starlink's list of approved in-motion markets.
- Location is the trigger. Starlink sorts every position into land or ocean using its coverage map. Ocean areas are shown in black, and islands count as ocean unless they are marked as available. The dish knows where it is from its own positioning. Starlink says the network has "extra systems" to follow a vessel as it moves across the ocean, and that the dish may give no connection in the waters of a country that does not allow Starlink.
- What you see. Boaters have posted Starlink alerts saying the terminal "is currently located in an ocean area". The alerts explain that Roam covers only marinas, inland waters and up to 12 nm, and that service returns only after you turn on Ocean Mode (Roam Unlimited only). Ocean Mode is a switch you turn on yourself in the app ("Data Usage") or on the website ("Subscriptions" > "Data"). It never switches itself off. We could not see the exact in-app screen wording for ourselves; this is based on user reports and Starlink's Help Center.
- Standby Mode will not help. Starlink says Standby Mode works "anywhere on land" and "is not intended for constant, in-motion" use.
So it is the ship's position, not its speed, that matters. Once you pass 12 nm, a Roam plan without Ocean Mode stops working.
Hardware: which dish can handle a ship?
Starlink approves only the Performance (Gen 3), Performance (Gen 2) (formerly "Flat High Performance"), Standard 4 / Standard 4 X and Mini for in-motion use. Kits with motors (Standard Actuated, Performance Gen 1) are "not recommended" because of safety risks. Using an unapproved kit while moving voids the warranty.
| Kit | Water/dust rating | Average power | Field of view | Notes for ships |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Performance (Gen 3) | IP69K dish (cables fitted), IP68 power supply | ~70 W; 100–240 V AC or 12–56 V DC | 140° | Starlink's pick for maritime. Survives winds of 280 km/h+. Aluminium body. Business kit |
| Performance (Gen 2) | IP56 dish, IP66 power supply | 110–150 W | 140° | Wide view keeps the link while the ship rolls |
| Standard 4 X | IP67 dish, IP66 power supply | 62 W (spec) / 75–100 W (Help Center) | 110° | Allowed in motion but "more sensitive to obstructions". Needs a separate mobility mount |
| Mini | See spec sheet* | 20–40 W; 12–48 V DC; needs 100 W USB-C PD | n/a | Built-in Wi-Fi covers only about 112 m², so it will not reach far into the accommodation |
*We did not confirm the Mini's IP rating on an official page on the check date.
All kits need a clear view of the sky all the way round, down to 20° above the horizon. Starlink says rolling or pitching beyond 20° may cause 1–2 second drop-outs. The Wi-Fi router is for indoor use only (IP54).
Onboard installation checklist
1. Permissions first
- Ask the Master in writing. The Master may need to check with the DPA/technical superintendent and the company IT team.
- Check the company's cyber-security policy. Cyber risk is part of the Safety Management System under the ISM Code (IMO Resolution MSC.428(98)), with guidance in MSC-FAL.1/Circ.3. A private network that connects to crew phones and laptops is exactly what IT teams worry about.
- Starlink's own maritime terms make the customer responsible for "maritime safety codes... port and harbor rules... and vessel owner approvals."
2. Placement
- Put it where it has a clear view of the sky, confirmed with the Starlink app's obstruction check.
- Keep it clear of radar scanners (both the beam and the danger zone), the magnetic compass, GMDSS, VSAT, GNSS and AIS antennas, and the funnel. Let the ETO or Chief Officer decide the spot. Starlink itself says to check for interference from nearby masts and antennas.
- Never put it where it blocks the view from the bridge or a lifesaving appliance.
3. Power and cabling
- Use a proper outlet approved by the Chief Engineer or ETO. Do not use a makeshift extension cord on deck.
- The Standard and Performance kits run on 100–240 V AC. The Mini needs 12–48 V DC or a 100 W USB-C PD source.
- Cable limits: 25 m from dish to power supply on Gen 2 and Standard kits, and 50 m on Gen 3. Minimum bend radius is 5 cm. Do not cut and splice the cable. Keep connectors pointing down.
- No drilling, welding or grinding without a permit to work. Route cables without damaging fire boundaries or watertight penetrations.
4. Securing
- Starlink's terms make you responsible for fixing the dish so it cannot come loose in heavy weather. Use a proper mount, U-bolts or clamps, and removable thread locker (Starlink suggests Loctite 222).
- Check the mount before heavy weather and after green seas. Rinse off salt with fresh water.
5. Security
- Use a strong Wi-Fi password. Starlink warns that open networks get drained by strangers.
- Keep it completely separate from ship systems (ECDIS, the office LAN, cargo systems).
- Turn off automatic updates on phones. Starlink says the router alone uses 1–5 GB a month.
6. Etiquette and records
- Agree on house rules: who pays, who holds the account, and data limits per person.
- Before each port, check local rules and switch off when required.
Legal and port-state limits
- India is the strictest example. DGS Order No. 02 of 2026 (11 March 2026) covers foreign-flag ships in Indian coastal waters and ports. It says satellite equipment that is part of a crew member's personal belongings and not part of the ship's GMDSS station "shall not be permitted for use in Indian coastal waters". Portable satcom devices must be declared in the PANS and may be sealed. UK P&I warns that the penalties include detention and fines. Starlink's Help Center articles are marked as not available in India.
- Other countries. Starlink says it may give no service in the waters of countries that do not allow it. Its maritime terms make the user responsible for getting any authorisations needed and for "ceasing use... where necessary based on the... vessel's geographic location."
- Philippines and flag state. The Philippines is on Starlink's list of approved in-motion markets. We did not find NTC guidance written for personal dishes on foreign-going ships, so ask your company and check your flag state's rules. Unverified.
Costs: what 20 crew would pay for one dish
This assumes one dish shared by 20 crew. Exchange rate: ₱62.75 = US$1 (BSP reference rate reported for 18 and 23 Sep 2026). Figures are estimates, not quotes.
One-time hardware
| Kit | Price | Per crew | Per crew per month over a 6 / 9 / 12-month contract |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard kit (PH website, "from" price) | ₱14,900 (≈$237) | ₱745 (≈$11.87) | ₱124 / ₱83 / ₱62 |
| Performance (Gen 3), US reseller price | $1,999 (≈₱125,437) | ₱6,272 ($99.95) | ₱1,045 / ₱697 / ₱523 |
Not included (prices not verified): mobility or pipe mount for the Standard kit, extra cable, shipping to the vessel, and import duties. The Gen 3 has no Starlink Philippines price; the $1,999 figure comes from US resellers.
Monthly service
| Plan | Monthly (USD / PHP) | Per crew | Data per crew | Rough SD video-call time per crew* |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Global Priority 50GB | $250 / ₱15,688 | $12.50 / ₱784 | 2.5 GB | ~3.5 hours |
| Global Priority 500GB | $650 / ₱40,788 | $32.50 / ₱2,039 | 25 GB | ~35 hours |
| Global Priority 1TB | $1,150 / ₱72,163 | $57.50 / ₱3,608 | 50 GB | ~70 hours |
| Global Priority 2TB | $2,150 / ₱134,913 | $107.50 / ₱6,746 | 100 GB | ~140 hours |
| Roam Unlimited + 50GB Ocean Mode | ₱5,999 + $300 ≈ ₱24,824 | ≈ ₱1,241 | 2.5 GB offshore | ~3.5 hours |
| Roam Unlimited + 100GB Ocean Mode | ≈ ₱43,649 | ≈ ₱2,182 | 5 GB offshore | ~7 hours |
| Roam 100GB | ₱3,299 | ₱165 | Coast only, PH only | Not usable offshore |
*Assumption: about 0.7 GB per hour, based on Starlink's figure for standard-definition video. Real video calls vary by app and quality. HD uses about 3 GB/hour. A 5TB tier was not listed on Starlink's Philippine maritime page on the check date, and we could not verify the price of a 50GB top-up.
Two lessons stand out. At $6/GB, Ocean Mode costs more than Global Priority 50GB once you go past roughly 26GB offshore (₱5,999 ≈ $95.60, plus $6 × 26GB ≈ $251). And even 500GB split 20 ways gives each person less than 1 GB a day.
What we recommend
- Ask your company first. Since the 2022 MLC amendments came into force on 23 December 2024, shipowners must provide "social connectivity", and the guideline says they should provide internet access "so far as is reasonably practicable". Ask whether your ship already has crew Wi-Fi through a company Starlink or VSAT plan before you buy your own.
- If a personal dish is approved, use the right plan. For deep-sea trading, that means Global Priority on an in-motion kit (Performance or Standard 4/4 X), properly mounted.
- Do not buy Roam 100GB for sea use. It works at home, in port and near the coast for limited days. Nothing more.
- If you use Ocean Mode, set a reminder to turn it off when you are back within coverage. It bills every GB until you do.
- Put everything in writing: who holds the account, who pays, the house rules, and the Master's approval.
FAQ
Will my Roam kit work in port in Singapore or Rotterdam? Roam 100GB works only in your registered country, which is the Philippines for a PH account. Roam Unlimited can be used abroad for up to 30 days at a time, and Travel Registration (ID and verification) is required.
Does the dish stop working because the ship is moving? No. The in-motion limit is 100 mph (87 knots). Service stops beyond 12 nm because of where you are, unless you are on Ocean Mode or Global Priority.
Can I use the new Personal Maritime plan on a bulk carrier? No. It is for small personal boats. Commercial vessels and commercial use are excluded.
Can crew split the bill? On Roam, sharing paid access can breach Starlink's no-resale rule. Global Priority holders may offer hotspot access to others. Either way, the company and the Master must agree.
What if Starlink changes the rules mid-contract? It has happened. Global Roam was withdrawn in August 2026, the Roam travel limit went from 60 to 30 days, and the Ocean Mode price tripled. Plans are month-to-month, so check the Help Center before each contract.
Is Starlink a replacement for GMDSS? No. Starlink's terms call it "not... a safety-of-life service". Distress and safety communications stay on the ship's GMDSS equipment.
Further reading
- Starlink Help Center: "What is Ocean Mode?" https://www.starlink.com/support/article/9e60a46f-7585-c747-3019-03af317d39c8
- Starlink Help Center: "Can I use Starlink in-motion?" https://www.starlink.com/support/article/50e933eb-54f5-1a77-cc85-c6c8325564cf
- Starlink Help Center: "How to install Starlink on boats" https://www.starlink.com/support/article/6d0a3213-27e9-1698-d877-08e181928e25
- Starlink Service Plan Descriptions (PH) https://starlink.com/legal/documents/DOC-1728-44881-79?regionCode=PH
- Starlink for Maritime https://www.starlink.com/ph/maritime
- ILO, 2022 amendments to MLC 2006 https://www.ilo.org/international-labour-standards/maritime-labour-convention-2006-0/text-and-preparatory-reports-maritime-labour-convention-2006
- IMO, Maritime cyber risk https://www.imo.org/en/OurWork/Security/Pages/Cyber-security.aspx
- UK P&I: India restrictions on satellite communication equipment https://www.ukpandi.com/news-and-resources/news/article/india-restrictions-on-satellite-phones-and-satellite-communication-equipment/
- Mobile Internet Resource Center: Personal Maritime plan and Ocean Mode price rise https://www.rvmobileinternet.com/starlink-introduces-185-month-personal-maritime-plan-for-cruisers-in-small-boats-but-ocean-data-jumps-3x-to-6-gb/
- Industry news and crew welfare: Safety4Sea (safety4sea.com), Splash247 (splash247.com), Riviera (rivieramm.com), ISWAN (iswan.org.uk), ITF Seafarers (itfseafarers.org)
Disclaimer: Starlink plans, prices and rules change often. Everything here was checked on 25 September 2026. Confirm on starlink.com and with your company before you buy or install anything. Maritime Match is not affiliated with Starlink or SpaceX. This article is general information for seafarers and is not legal advice.
